LSG vs RCB Match Preview, IPL 2023: Royal Challengers Bangalore Face Lucknow Super Giants Test

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will face off in match number 43 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on Monday.

LSG defeated Delhi Capitals (DC) by 50 runs and then lost to Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 12 runs but bounced back by beating Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 5 wickets. They then defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by 1 wicket but lost to Punjab Kings by 2 wickets. They then lost to Punjab Kings (PBKS) by 2 wickets, beat Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 10 runs and lost to Gujarata Titans (GT) by 7 runs but beat PBKS by 56 runs.

RCB, on the other hand, beat Mumbai Indians (MI) by 8 wickets in the first game but then lost to Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 81 runs and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) by 1 wicket. They then beat Delhi Capitals (DC) by 23 runs but lost to Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 8 runs and bounced back with a 24-run win over Punjab Kings (PBKS). They then beat Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 7 runs but lost to Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 21 runs.

IPL 2023 Points Table: Check Team Standings, Team Points, Wins, Losses & Orange CapPurple Cap

What: Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), IPL 2023 Match 43

When: May 1, Monday

Where: Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow

Start Time: 7:30 PM IST

Royal Challengers Bangalore News

RCB have struggled to maintain momentum provided by Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis and Glenn Maxwell, who have done all the scoring in the eight games so far.

With most teams bunched up closely in the standings, the margin for errors has reduced in the second half of the competition.

Kohli, du Plessis and Maxwell can’t be expected to do the job in every game and it is high time the likes of Mahipal Lomror, Shahbaz Ahmed and Dinesh Karthik step up.

The fielding and catching too needs to improve, something which was pointed by Kohli himself after the loss to KKR.

IPL 2023: Orange Cap Complete List of Batters with Most Runs, Check here

The former India captain will continue to lead the side unless du Plessis, who has been used as an ‘Impact Player’, regains full fitness.

Mohammad Siraj has been the stand out bowler for RCB and he needs support from the other fast bowlers. Harshal Patel is tasked with bowling the tough overs but he would want to bring down his economy rate from 9.94.

Lucknow Super Giants Team News

LSG, on the other hand, head into the game after a thumping victory against Punjab Kings. The batting performance against Punjab was a testament to the firepower they posses. No total is safe when Kyle Mayers, Marcus Stoinis and Nicholas Pooran get going.

Skipper K L Rahul, however, will be the feeling heat and would want to make a statement at LSG’s home ground. The pitch in Lucknow has been bit of a letdown and worked against the strengths of the home team.

IPL 2023: Purple Cap Complete List of Batters with Most Runs, Check here

Offered a batting beauty in Mohali, LSG batters went on the rampage but they have struggled due to the slow nature of the surface here. Rahul and Co. would, however, be expected to put up a much better show than what they managed in their previous home game as they failed to chase 136 from a commanding position.

Spinners have enjoyed bowling in Lucknow with Ravi Bishnoi shouldering the responsibility alongside Amit Mishra. Afghan pacer Naveen Ul Haq has been tidy in the absence of Mark Wood. Avesh Khan has conceded close to 10 runs per over in seven games and he would be looking to change that.

Full Squads:

Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (c and wk), Kyle Mayers, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Amit Mishra, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Naveen ul Haq, Ayush Badoni, Avesh Khan, Karan Sharma, Yudhvir Charak, Yash Thakur, Romario Shepherd, Mark Wood, Swapnil Singh, Manan Vohra, Daniel Sams, Prerak Mankad, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jaydev Unadkat, Marcus Stoinis, Ravi Bishnoi, Mayank Yadav.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis (c), Akash Deep, Finn Allen, Anuj Rawat, Avinash Singh, Manoj Bhandage, Michael Bracewell, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dinesh Karthik, Siddarth Kaul, Virat Kohli, Mahipal Lomror, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj, Wayne Parnell, Harshal Patel, Suyash Prabhudessai, Rajan Kumar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Karn Sharma, Himanshu Sharma, Sonu Yadav, Vijaykumar Vyshak, David Willey.

With PTI inputs

Get the latest Cricket News, IPL 2023 Live Score, Orange Cap and Purple Cap holder details here

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.