SC Rejects Plea Seeking Inauguration Of New Parliament By President Murmu

The Supreme Court has rejected a plea seeking the new Parliament be inaugurated by President Murmu. The court said that the matter is not relevant to this court (SC) and while rejecting the PIL said that the Prieme Minister is the executive head of Parliament while the president is the constitutional head. Earlier, a PIL was submitted to the apex court requesting the Lok Sabha secretariat to arrange for President Droupadi Murmu to officially inaugrate the new Parliament building.

According to the argument put forth by lawyer Jaya Sukin, the announcement made by the Lok Sabha secretariat on May 18th and the invitations sent out by the secretary general of Lok Sabha pertaining to the opening of the new Parliament building are in breach of the Constitution.

The plea highlighted the fact that the president holds the highest position in the Indian society, acting both as the head of the Parliament and as the first citizen. Therefore, the plea urged for a directive for the president to inaugurate the new Parliament premises. PM Modi is scheduled to launch the new Parliament building on May 28 following an invitation by the Lok Sabha Speaker. 

The plea observed that in accordance with the Constitution, Parliament is comprised of the President of India as well as the top legislative bodies, the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. “Further Article 87 says that at the beginning of every Parliamentary session, President shall address both houses and inform Parliament of the causes of its summons, But the respondents (Lok Sabha secretariat and Union of India) are trying to ‘humiliate’ the President. The President of India Droupadi Murmu is not being invited to the inauguration of the new Parliament building,” it submitted. 

The decision regarding the Prime Minister to launch the new Parliament building has been widely criticized by nearly 20 opposition parties such as Congress, Left, TMC, SP, and AAP who have chosen not to attend the inauguration ceremony. The National Democratic Alliance, headed by the BJP, has described the opposition’s position as a direct challenge to the democracy and values enshrined within the country’s constitution.

PM Modi is set to host around 25 political parties at the new Parliament building’s inauguration. In addition to the 18 individuals representing the ruling NDA, there will be seven other parties not affiliated with the NDA present at the event. Seven political parties that are not part of the National Democratic Alliance, including the BSP, Shiromani Akali Dal, Janata Dal (Secular), Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas), YSR Congress, BJD, and TDP, are expected to attend the gathering.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.